38.3 F
Saturday, March 2, 2024
HomeHigh SchoolNWC: Boeschen named women's tennis 'Coach of the Year' in leading Watauga...

NWC: Boeschen named women’s tennis ‘Coach of the Year’ in leading Watauga to team title

By David Rogers. BOONE, N.C. — In her first year as head coach of the Watauga High School women’s tennis team, Phoebe Boeschen faced numerous challenges. Early on, she lost her previous No. 1 singles player but even before that many thought it would be a rebuilding year for the Pioneers.

Instead, the young Pioneers finished the 2023 campaign 14-2 overall, 9-1 in Northwestern Conference play, the only league loss coming in a 4-5 decision at Ashe County at the end of the regular season — and a team the Pioneers had defeated 7-2 a month earlier, at home.

For her work leading the Pioneers in her maiden season, Boeschen was named “Coach of the Year” by the Northwestern Conference, according to a league report issued on Nov. 18.

Player of the Year: Addison Dollar- Ashe County High School
Coach of the Year: Phoebe Boeschen- Watauga High School

All Conference Selections:
  • Adisyn Eckard-Alexander Central
  • Jenna Mason- Alexander Central
  • Julia Herman-Ashe County
  • Ellie Cable-Ashe County
  • Allie Eller-Ashe Countyq
  • Emily Kania-Freedom
  • Natalie Jones-Hibriten
  • Paige Grimbeek-Hibriten
  • Isabelle Richard- South Caldwell
  • Addison Cohen-Watauga
  • Larson Berry-Watauga
  • Kennedy Moore-Watauga
  • Fiona Russell-Watauga
Honorable Mention:
  • Alaina Peterson-Alexander Central
  • Ella Deal-Alexander Central
  • Bailey Richardson-Ashe County
  • Olivia Glover-Ashe County
  • Siashi Xiong-Freedom
  • Leah Kirksey-Freedom
  • Ella Taylor-Hibriten
  • Maddy Reid-Hibriten
  • Lila Acevedo-South Caldwell
  • Sydni Woodward-South Caldwell
  • Abbi Shuman-Watauga
  • Hatherly Armfield-Watauga

Most Popular

Recent Comments