85.5 F
Sunday, April 14, 2024
HomeHigh SchoolIsaiah Shirley, Coach Ryan Habich head list of Northwestern Conference all-conference football...

Isaiah Shirley, Coach Ryan Habich head list of Northwestern Conference all-conference football selections

By David Rogers. BOONE, N.C. — As might be expected of the high school football team that went undefeated in conference play, Watauga dominated the Northwestern Conference “all conference” selections for 2022. Noteworthy among the selections voted on by the conference coaches were senior defensive end/tight end, Isaiah Shirley, who got the nod as “Player of the Year.” Watauga head coach Ryan Habich, who just completed his tenth season at the helm of the Pioneers, was named, “Coach of the Year.”

Head coach Ryan Habich talks to the Watauga players after their win over Ashe County on Oct. 28, about the playoffs. Photo by David Rogers

A complete listing of post-season NWC football honors:

Northwestern Conference Champion: Watauga
Player of the Year: Isaiah Shirley – Watauga
Offensive Player of the Year: Matthew Peterson – Ashe County
Defensive Player of the Year: Dillan Earp – Hibriten
Special Teams Player of the Year: Carson Dyson – Freedom
Coach of the Year: Ryan Habich – Watauga


Will Curtis
Isaiah Shirley
Jackson Pryor
Cole Horine
Carlton Horine
Johnny Miller
Eli Greene
Trey Thompson
Maddox Greene
Jonathan Lutabingwa
Grant Kight
JT Cook
Jackson Lang

Honorable Mention: Morgan Henry, Brody Martin


Coby Wilson
Jake Absher
Dillan Earp
Gerard Felder
Jesse Taylor
Gavin Riley
Matt Warhurst
Markle Helton
Silas Patterson
Gabe Suddreth
Avian Williams

Honorable Mention: Chandler Wyke, Elijah Amaya-Perez


Avery Pollard
Chris Hensley
Nathan Vue
BG Hampton
Demarcus Lowrance
Sacred Baylor
Jaylen Barnett
Julian Castro
Eli Thomas

Honorable Mention: Curt Young, Mikey Cowling


Nate Erkman
Garison Millsaps
Mason Chapman-Mays
Tanner Moore
Landon Barker
Thomas Cline
Sawyer Chapman-Mays
Nate Dahlstrom

Honorable Mention: Luke Hammer, Jonathan Specht


Matthew Peterson
Bryant Blevins
Colin Estes
Blake Peters
Caleb Blackburn
Dillan Borders

Honorable Mention: Ian Graybeal, Manny Olvera


Tyler Eggers
JB Robbins
Kevin Pereira
Suan Moore

Honorable Mention: Sylas Scruggs, J D Page

Final Regular Season Standings

1. Watauga
2. Hibriten
3. Freedom
4. Alexander
5. Ashe County
6. South Caldwell


Most Popular

Recent Comments