35.1 F
Wednesday, December 6, 2023
HomeProfessionalMade for Manhattan: Blowing Rock runners sparkle in USATF national 5k championship

Made for Manhattan: Blowing Rock runners sparkle in USATF national 5k championship

By David Rogers. NEW YORK, N.Y. — Only 26 seconds separated first place from tenth place in the USATF Men’s 5k Road Championship race on the streets of Manhattan and in Central Park on Nov. 5. Of the 30 elite athletes qualified and invited to compete in the officially sanctioned national 5K championship, four represented Blowing Rock-based ZAP Endurance.

Abdihamid Nur of Nike captured top honors, completing the course that started in front of the United Nations and finished just outside Tavern on the Green in 13 minutes, 24 seconds. Second place honors went to Hillary Bors (13:29) of Hoka One One and third place to unattached Kirubel Erassa (13:37).

The On ZAP Endurance team capture three of the top 15 places, including two of the top 10. ZAP marathon and cross country specialist Andrew Colley was 7th (13:41), with teammate Eric van der Els making his pro debut with a 10th place finish, in 13:50.

Other ZAP athletes making their pro debuts were Ryan Ford (13:54) at No. 13, and Dan Schaffer (14:13), at No. 21.

The course started on First Ave. in front of the United Nations, turned west on 42nd Street, then north on 6th Ave and into Central Park.

The full list of results, team association, and times:

  1. Abdihamid Nur, Nike, 13:24
  2. Hillary Bor, Hoka One One, 13:29
  3. Kirubel Erassa, Unattached, 13:37
  4. Ahmed Muhumed, Unattached, 13:39
  5. Alec Basten, Under Armour, 13:40
  6. Brian Barraza, adidas Tinman Elite, 13:40
  7. Andrew Colley, On ZAP Endurance, 13:41
  8. Tai Dinger, Unattached, 13:45
  9. Kasey Knevelboard, Under Armour, 13:50
  10. Eric van der Els, On ZAP Endurance, 13:50
  11. Graham Crawford, Reebok Boston Track Club, 13:51
  12. Joe Berriatua, adidas Tinman Elite, 13:53
  13. Ryan Ford, On ZAP Endurance, 13:54
  14. Isaac Updike, Nike, 13:54
  15. Ryan Drew, Unattached, 13:56
  16. Colin Abert, Minnesota Distance Elite, 14:04
  17. Craig Engels, Nike Union Athletics Club, 14:08
  18. Ryan Kutch, Central Park Track Club Tracksmith, 14:08
  19. Mason Ferlic, adidas, 14:10
  20. Julius Diehr, Ocean State Athletic Club – New Balance, 14:11
  21. Daniel Schaffer, On ZAP Endurance, 14:13
  22. Jordan Mann, Ocean State Athletic Club – New Balance, 14:15
  23. Tim McGowan, Boston Athletic Association, 14:17
  24. Jack Salisbury, Unattached, 14:23
  25. Ryan Hill, Hoka One One, 14:29
  26. Jacob Brueckman, Roots Running Project, 14:35
  27. Owen Hoeft, Minnesota Distance Elite, 14:43
  28. Christian Noble, New Balance, 14:48
  29. Drew Hunter, adidas Tinman Elite, no time
  30. Willy Fink, Under Armour, no time

Most Popular

Recent Comments